Aguarde...
 

IN THE DARK STREETS SHINING

A TOUCHING WARTIME SAGA OF HOPE AND NEW BEGINNINGS



Produto disponível até 15min após 
a confirmação do pagamento!

Sinopse

A young widow's actions in war-torn London ensure her life is never the same again... In the Dark Streets Shining is a gripping and touching wartime saga by much-loved writer Pam Evans, which vividly captures the heartbreak and courage of those battling to survive in Blitz-torn London. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Rosie Goodwin. When Rose Brown's husband is killed at Dunkirk in 1940, she feels as though she's lost a part of herself. Rose can't imagine the future without Ray, but she's certain he would have wanted her to start again. She decides to volunteer as a postwoman in West London, and when she courageously rescues a young boy from a bombed-out house and takes him home, she finds a new sense of purpose. Traumatised from losing his mother in the ruins, seven-year-old Alfie is rebellious and withdrawn. However, he touches the hearts of Rose's family, and with kindness, patience and love, they eventually win his trust. But then a handsome stranger, Johnny Beech, turns up on the doorstep looking for his son, and everything changes... What readers are saying about In the Dark Streets Shining: 'This book brings the blitz and the devastation in war torn London to the reader through the lives of one family. A great read''A book that will make you laugh out loud and weep buckets. Beautifully written, the harshness of war coupled with the stoicism of those living on rations, endless air raids, losing loved ones and a frightened little boy who tugs at everyone's heart strings. You won't put it down until the last word has left the final page''Never dark and always shining!'

Detalhes do Produto

    • Formato:  ePub
    • Subtítulo:  A TOUCHING WARTIME SAGA OF HOPE AND NEW BEGINNINGS
    • Origem:  IMPORTADO
    • Editora: HEADLINE
    • Assunto: Literatura Internacional
    • Idioma: INGLÊS
    • Ano de Edição: 2010
    • Ano:  2010
    • País de Produção: United Kingdom
    • Código de Barras:  2000879670265
    • ISBN:  9780755372805

Avaliação dos Consumidores

ROLAR PARA O TOPO