Aguarde...

MAYFAIR REBEL


de: R$ 19,45

por: 

R$ 17,59preço +cultura


Produto disponível até 15min após 
a confirmação do pagamento!

Sinopse

From West End lady to East End girl: a gritty saga perfect for fans of Call the Midwife and The Nightingale GirlsMiss May Winton, heiress to the Frears’ shipyard fortune, has been rocked in the cradle of upper-class comfort for the past twenty-two years. But now she is set to begin a placement as a trainee nurse in St Katherine’s, the largest voluntary hospital in the East End of London. An abrupt – but not unwelcome – education awaits her.Daredevil May has long been bored and frustrated with the pointless rituals of her privileged life. Nursing, she believes, will provide an honourable escape, and freedom to meet people from all walks of life. It is at St Katherine’s in Poplar that she becomes bosom friends with a socialist station-master’s daughter, Ellen Carter and staunch suffragette Ada Farrar.Together May and Ellen explore their new surroundings in the East End, with cockney drama at full cry on every street. As May becomes closer to the people she helps and serves, she finds herself questioning the very social conventions she’s been taught to live by. Her nursing duties mean she has no time to mix in Society, and her family worry she will never meet someone suitable. In the rare moments when she has time to stop and think, May starts to suspect they might be right…A wonderful tale of love, death and self-discovery, Mayfair Rebel paints an unforgettable picture of life at the top and the bottom of the social ladder. Each world has its heartbreaks, its joys and its corruptions; but Nurse Winton is at home in either one and respected in both. But if she finds love, will she be forced to choose between them?

Detalhes do Produto

    • Ano de Edição: 2016
    • Ano:  2016
    • País de Produção: Brazil
    • Código de Barras:  2001033758294
    • ISBN:  9781910859629

Avaliação dos Consumidores

ROLAR PARA O TOPO