Aguarde...

THE STORMS OF WAR


de: R$ 32,43

por: 

R$ 29,19preço +cultura


Produto disponível até 15min após 
a confirmação do pagamento!

Sinopse

The first novel in Kate Williams' groundbreaking new historical series which begins in the First World War. For fans of BIRDSONG and DOWNTON ABBEY.In the idyllic early summer of 1914, life is good for the de Witt family. German Rudolf and his aristocratic English wife Verena are planning the wedding of their daughter, Emmeline, while their eldest son Arthur is studying in Paris and Michael is just back from his first term at Cambridge. Celia, the youngest of the de Witt children, is on the brink of adulthood, and secretly dreams of escaping her carefully mapped out future and exploring the world.But with the onslaught of war, the de Witts find themselves in danger of losing everything they hold dear. As Celia struggles to make sense of the changing world around her, she lies about her age to join the war effort and finds herself embroiled in a complex plot that puts her and those she loves in danger.With gripping detail and brilliant empathy, Kate Williams tells the story of Celia and her family as they are shunned by a society that previously embraced them, torn apart by sorrow, and buffeted and changed by the storms of war.

Sobre o Autor

Kate Williams apaixonou-se pelo século XVII enquanto estudava na Universidade de Oxford. Completou o mestrado, na Universidade de Londres, e o doutorado em Filosofia, na Universidade de Oxford. É conferencista e consultora televisiva, e aparece regularmente na BBC e no Channel 4. Vive em Londres.
Veja todas as obras deste Autor.

Detalhes do Produto

    • Ano de Edição: 2014
    • Ano:  2014
    • País de Produção: Portugal
    • Código de Barras:  2000896125458
    • ISBN:  9781409139874

Avaliação dos Consumidores

ROLAR PARA O TOPO