Aguarde...
 

THE ZOOKEEPER'S WIFE

AN UNFORGETTABLE TRUE STORY, NOW A MAJOR FILM



Produto disponível em até 15min no aplicativo Kobo, após a confirmação  do pagamento!

Sinopse

In war-torn Warsaw, a zookeeper and his wife refuse to surrender... Now a major motion picture starring Jessica Chastain and Daniel Brühl, Diane Ackerman's The Zookeeper's Wife is based on a remarkable true story of bravery and sanctuary during World War II. Perfect for fans of Lion and Hidden Figures. 'I can't imagine a better story or storyteller. The Zookeeper's Wife will touch every nerve you have' -Jonathan Safran Foer, author of Everything is Illuminated When Germany invades Poland, Luftwaffe bombers devastate Warsaw and the city's zoo along with it. With most of their animals killed, or stolen away to Berlin, zookeepers Jan and Antonina Zabinski begin smuggling Jews into the empty cages. As the war escalates Jan becomes increasingly involved in the anti-Nazi resistance. Ammunition is buried in the elephant enclosure and explosives stored in the animal hospital. Plans are prepared for what will become the Warsaw uprising. Through the ever-present fear of discovery, Antonina must keep her unusual household afloat, caring for both its human and animal inhabitants - otters, a badger, hyena pups, lynxes - as Europe crumbles around them. Written with the narrative drive and emotional punch of a novel, The Zookeeper's Wife is a remarkable true story. It shows us the human and personal impact of war - of life in the Warsaw Ghetto, of fighting in the anti-Nazi resistance. But more than anything it is a story of decency and sacrifice triumphing over terror and oppression. What readers are saying about The Zookeeper's Wife: 'Beautifully and sensitively written - a must read' 'An adventure that inspires' 'Both horrifying and endearing on a scale I've not experienced in years' 'A story that will haunt you forever' 'Haunting, life affirming, sad, and inspiring'

Detalhes do Produto

    • Formato:  ePub
    • Subtítulo:  AN UNFORGETTABLE TRUE STORY, NOW A MAJOR FILM
    • Origem:  IMPORTADO
    • Editora: HEADLINE
    • Assunto: História - Militar
    • Idioma: INGLÊS
    • Ano de Edição: 2013
    • Ano:  2013
    • País de Produção: United Kingdom
    • Código de Barras:  2001084169155
    • ISBN:  9780755365043

Avaliação dos Consumidores

ROLAR PARA O TOPO