Produto disponível no mesmo dia no aplicativo Kobo, após a confirmação  do pagamento!


Janet Fraser, a promising young pianist, visits her mother’s family home in the Yorkshire dales where she is transported back to the early nineteenth century and her ancestors mistake her for a daughter of the house who had eloped some years previously.Janetta Thornley’s ‘reappearance’ receives a mixed reception: hostility from her mother, the autocratic Lady Gabriella; ambivalence from her brother William and resentment from debutante sister Sophie, but teenage Kate is pleased to see her again, as are most of the servants. Janet quickly forms a special friendship with Dorothea, William’s unhappy wife, who he is reputed to have poisoned.In order to maintain her charade and a roof over her head, Janet has to cope with a very different lifestyle while remembering two cover stories: that put about by Lady Gabriella to save face and her own invention to account for the missing years. The prodigal daughter is relaunched into local society and blunders through a variety of situations.Janet gradually adapts to her strange circumstances and settles into Georgian family life, but William eventually discovers she is an impostor and blackmails her into agreeing to marry his sister’s original suitor. Matters come to a head with a family tragedy.

Detalhes do Produto

    • Ano de Edição: 2016
    • Ano:  2016
    • País de Produção: Canada
    • Código de Barras:  2001026633799
    • ISBN:  9781311182227

Avaliação dos Consumidores