Produto disponível no mesmo dia no aplicativo Kobo, após a confirmação  do pagamento!


This is Part 2 of “The Chronicles of Pet”, a Romance/Action/Adventure series of five books. It is set on Earth in the 22nd century and is about the life of a few survivors from the UK, USA, and New Zealand after a devastating pandemic and earthquakes wipe out the world’s population. Stephen and his family and a few friends have successfully survived some years from the pandemic on a small island off the west coast of Scotland. Holly eventually manages to persuade the isolated group to take a risk and go to the mainland to see if it is safe, and restock food and fuel. The only information the survivors know about the state of the planet is by automated reports from the World Government computer called “Core” in the headquarters in Geneva. After five years it confirms that only the South Island of New Zealand was unaffected by the pandemic. Holly is frustrated alone on the island with just her brother and Stephen’s two teenage children as friends and desires a friend of her own. Using a companion device, she instructs it to find a friend for her in New Zealand. She sends a message and awaits a reply. In New Zealand, the situation on the South Island is deteriorating due to large earthquakes on the west coast. There is also civil unrest as the government refuses, due to the risk of the pandemic being present, to allow people to go to the North Island. Kath is now a teacher in Takaka in a village at the north-west tip of the South Island of New Zealand. Due to the many earthquakes, the village is cut off. The villagers have to fend for themselves, school numbers drop, so Kath turns the school fields into a farm. Kath longs for a family of her own, but the circumstances of the isolation of the village mean there are no eligible men. Then one day, Kath’s companion phone “Pet” receives a message from Holly. She does not know how to answer, or where the person lives, other than her assumption that she resides in New Zealand. Kent is now settled in Queenstown New Zealand working for the Seismic Centre, specifically on forecasting the upward trend in earthquakes on the western coastline. “Virtual Companions” develops how the different lives of Kath, Kent, and Holly converge. The Chronicles of Pet consists of five books: Part 1 – Island Homes Part 2 – Virtual Companions Part 3 – We are Animal Part 4 – You’re Real and Here with Me Part 5 – New World Reality About the Author Stewart Akass grew up in Kent England. He enjoyed a career in the consumer electronics industry for 30 years, retiring at the age of 54. Although an avid reader, he never had the ambition to be a writer. During an extended holiday stimulated by the landscape in New Zealand, he started to write The Chronicles of Pet. Since then he has pursued publication and the detailed task of proof-reading and editing. He lives in the South East of England.

Detalhes do Produto

    • Ano de Edição: 2013
    • Ano:  2015
    • País de Produção: Canada
    • Código de Barras:  2001033539466
    • ISBN:  9781301373673

Avaliação dos Consumidores