Aguarde...

DEFEND AND BETRAY

AN ATMOSPHERIC AND COMPELLING VICTORIAN MYSTERY



Produto disponível no mesmo dia no aplicativo Kobo, após a confirmação  do pagamento!

Sinopse

Can Monk beat the clock and prevent an innocent woman from going to the gallows, before it's too late? The third novel featuring Investigator Monk is a thrilling mystery of Victorian England from the acclaimed author Anne Perry. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry. 'A richly textured and timeless novel of suspense. Anne Perry's Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters' - Faye Kellerman After a brilliant military career in India, General Thaddeus Carlyon finally meets death not in the frenzy of battle, but at a London dinner party, in what appears to be a freak accident. But the General's beautiful wife readily confesses that she killed him - a story she clings to even under the shadow of the gallows. Investigator William Monk, nurse Hester Latterly and Oliver Rathbone, counsel for the defence, work feverishly to break down the silence of the accused and her husband's proud family; and with the trial only days away they inch towards the appalling heart of the mystery. What readers are saying about Defend and Betray: 'As brilliant and absorbing as ever... This was gripping. Great writing and brilliant characters' 'Catches the atmosphere of the time really well. Anne Perry always tells a great story, keeps you turning pages and always wanting more' 'A very good read. Hooked from front page to last'

Detalhes do Produto

    • Ano de Edição: 2013
    • Ano:  2013
    • País de Produção: United Kingdom
    • Código de Barras:  2000618075535
    • ISBN:  9781472211798

Avaliação dos Consumidores

ROLAR PARA O TOPO