Produto disponível no mesmo dia no aplicativo Kobo, após a confirmação  do pagamento!


Get ready for the new Showtime series 'Penny Dreadful' with these three Penny Dreadful classics remastered for eReaders: 'Wagner The Wehr-Wolf,' 'Varney The Vampire' and 'The Mysteries of London.'  'Wagner the Wehr-Wolf'  Published in 1847, 'Wagner' is one of the first werewolf novels in English Literature. It is set in the sixteenth century and begins with a recently abandoned old man waiting in vain for his granddaughter to return and care for him as a storm rages in the ancient forest surrounding his isolated cottage. To his surprise, a stranger appears and offers him something he cannot refuse: beauty and youth. But it comes with a price as he must also suffer the curse of the werewolf. Love, violence, and intrigue are all weaved around Fernand Wagner as he struggles to balance being a human and a murderous animal. As things become more out of hand and uncontrollable, the secret he has been trying to hide may just have to come forth and be faced by all involved, including his beloved Nisida.  'Varney the Vampire or The Feast of Blood'  One of the earliest penny dreadfuls, 'Varney' is the original vampire story and it was wildly popular with Victorian readers, remaining the Number One serial for two years. It appeared in eight part installments every month between 1845-7. The full version collected here clocks in at an epic 667,000 words. This hugely influential work continues to enthrall and is presented here in electronic book form for the first time with its original illustrations.  'The Mysteries of London Vol. I'  Largely forgotten now, 'The Mysteries of London' was one of the biggest selling novels in mid-Victorian England, outselling contemporaneous works from Dickens and Thackerary. The first series was published in weekly installments from 1844-46, priced at a penny each. George W. M. Reynolds wrote the first two series of this long-running narrative of life in the seedy underbelly of mid-nineteenth-century London. Thomas Miller wrote the third series and Edward L. Blanchard wrote the fourth series of this immensely popular title.  *Over 150 period illustrations  *Annotated with two original essays "What is a Penny Dreadful?" and "Who was George W. M. Reynolds?"  *Links to free, full-length audio recordings of Varney the Vampire and The Mysteries of London  *Total page count: 3, 376  All three pulp classics for one unbeatable low price!  *An individual, active Table of Contents for each booke.  *Perfect formatting in rich text.

Detalhes do Produto

    • Ano de Edição: 2014
    • Ano:  2014
    • País de Produção: Brazil
    • Código de Barras:  2001073289376
    • ISBN:  1230000221638

Avaliação dos Consumidores