Produto disponível em até 15min no aplicativo Kobo, após a confirmação  do pagamento!


She may survive the war . . . but only if a mysterious enemy doesn't kill her at home. With the Civil War threatening the citizens of Macon, Georgia, young Caroline Hannah is forced to leave her studies at Wesleyan Female College. When she arrives at Looking Glass Plantation to live with her mother's cousins, she instantly senses peculiar tensions in the family. Cousin Sophronia is welcoming, but Cousin Penelope clearly doesn't want Caroline there. Why? Is Penelope capable of channeling her disapproval into threats, violence, even murder? After the terrifying incident at the mill, Caroline sank wearily into bed. Night fell, and still her strength had not returned. Letting go, she slept. And dreamed. Screaming and struggling and beating her fists against the pillow, Caroline fought death in a cotton-lined coffin. A streak of light came toward her. Chaddy was bending low. "Hush, child," she said. Setting the candle beside the bed, she grabbed for a basin as Caroline bent to vomit. The nightmare and the retching reoccurred throughout the night. When daylight finally came, she breathed a thankful prayer that she had been spared and joyfully watched the sunrise. Gingerly, she moved sore muscles. Pain stabbed, wakened her fully and drove the fuzz from her brain. Now recalling the frightening episode with more clarity, she clapped her hands over her mouth in horror. She had not stumbled and fallen into the press. She had been pushed. Trembling violently, Caroline relived that instant. She had discounted all of the things that had happened since she came to Looking Glass Plantation. But there was no discounting those hands. Someone was determined to kill her. Jacquelyn Cook is the beloved author of antebellum Southern novels including SUNRISE, THE GATES OF TREVALYN, THE GREENWOOD LEGACY, and THE RIVER BETWEEN series.

Detalhes do Produto

    • Ano de Edição: 2012
    • Ano:  2012
    • País de Produção: Canada
    • Código de Barras:  2001121170892
    • ISBN:  9781611941838

Avaliação dos Consumidores