Aguarde...

THE FULCRUM FILES



Produto disponível em até 15min no aplicativo Kobo, após a confirmação  do pagamento!

Sinopse

The young, charismatic Ben Clayton was one of Britain’s brightest boxing prospects, until the day he slammed a left hook into a fragile chin. Sickened by the consequences he turned away from the ring, and found solace in the arms of the beautiful Lucy Kirk. On the 7th March 1936, after almost two decades of peace in Europe, Hitler ordered the German Army back into the Rhineland. It was a direct challenge to Britain and France. Still unnerved by the slaughter of the Great War, the politicians wavered. The French Army stayed in its barracks, while the aristocratic British elite watched from their country retreats. History was balanced on a knife edge, and MI5's Fleming White knew that if the German challenge was ignored, Hitler's grip on power would harden like setting steel. The result would be a bigger, bloodier war for which Britain was not ready. It was an outcome that White would do anything to avoid. The ruthless spymaster pushed his pawns around the board and soon just one man could make the difference between war and peace, victory or defeat. And that man was Ben Clayton. Thrown into the maelstrom of plot and counter-plot, into a world of mysteries, murder, spies and traitors, Ben must battle not just to survive, but to protect all that he loved and held most dear - Lucy. The Fulcrum Files is historical fiction, a political spy thriller with a twist of romance and murder mystery. Reviews for The Fulcrum Files. 'This book satisfies sailing buffs, history fans, espionage addicts, and anyone else yearning for a good yarn.' Nina Sankovitch, Huffington Post, Thanksgiving for 2012 Books Review. 'What really impressed me though was the strong characterisation and plotting. It is rather complicated, but everything dovetails together very nicely at the end… Fans of David Downing or Alan Furst in particular should give this book a chance.' Crime Fiction Lover. 'With his riveting plotting and engaging characters, Chisnell provides a good read.' Read All Day. 'This is a well-researched historical thriller with romantic extras. The hero is a poor boy with a brain and the complex snobberies he encounters are sharply delineated. Two nicely contrasted heroines, lots of period detail and a touch of industrial strife thrown in. This is a big book, well-worth settling down to. I shall be looking out for more.' Indie e-book review. 'Once the course of the book was finally set, I was hooked. Just when I thought I couldn’t take it anymore this amazing, fast paced story emerged before my very eyes and I couldn’t put it down… What you have is just another shining example of why Chisnell is an indie name to keep your eye on.' Kindle Obsessed.

Detalhes do Produto

    • Ano de Edição: 2012
    • Ano:  2014
    • País de Produção: Canada
    • Código de Barras:  2001121515921
    • ISBN:  9781476191966

Avaliação dos Consumidores

ROLAR PARA O TOPO