Produto disponível no mesmo dia no aplicativo Kobo, após a confirmação  do pagamento!


The Enlisted Men’s Club is the first of a trilogy of stories about military life by the late Gary Reilly, based on his experiences in Vietnam. Private Palmer is stationed at San Francisco’s army base at The Presidio, awaiting orders. He’s trying to find his place in the ranks. And trying to avoid work. While he’s been trained as a Military Policeman, he has no idea what’s next. Palmer keeps a low profile by day and seeks escape in the bars at night. The trick to survival, he decides, is not to care about anything during his time in the Army. To his surprise, that’s the most difficult challenge of all.Advance Praise for The Enlisted Men’s Club“Gary Reilly has written a masterful account of serving in the U.S. military. He perfectly captures the interior and exterior life of an American soldier during the turbulent Vietnam era. The Enlisted Men’s Club nails the essence of a young man waiting to be shipped out — and staring down war.”~ Steve Singular, author of The Wichita Divide, When Men Become Gods, Unholy Messenger: The BTK Story, and more…“I highly recommend The Enlisted Men’s Club to those who wish to enjoy a book about the last weeks before a young man ends up in Vietnam, convinced he will die there.”~ David Wilson, The Vietnam Veterans of America, Books In Review“Gary Reilly draws a deeply true and convincing portrait of a soldier and his time in this wonderful novel about the Vietnam era. A flawed man on the verge of leaving for war struggles to find his place in his unit and in the world, in a story so well told that we can all relate to his search for human connection.”~ Helen Thorpe, author of the forthcoming Soldier Girls (Simon and Schuster) and Just Like UsWhen writer Gary Reilly died in 2011, he left behind a trove of manuscripts. In all, there were more than 25 novels, all unpublished. Each was carefully crafted, rewritten countless times and polished to his high professional standards. He also left one more sheet of paper—his three-sentence will. His last directions gave his friends Mike Keefe and Mark Stevens permission to publish his works.They immediately established Running Meter Press for the sole purpose to carry out Gary’s wishes. In 2012, in association with Boulder’s Big Earth Publishing in Boulder, Running Meter Press launched The Asphalt Warrior, the first in a series of eleven comic novels featuring Denver cab driver Brendan Murphy, a.k.a. “Murph.”To date, we have published the first seven in the series, each one of them reaching the top three in The Denver Post’s Local Bestsellers List. The second novel, Ticket to Hollywood, was a finalist for the 2013 Colorado Book Award.But Reilly was not just a writer of humor. He created mysteries, science fiction and deeper literary works. It is now time to expose readers to Gary’s more serious side.Based on his own experiences in the U.S. Army, including a tour of duty in Vietnam during the war, Reilly wrote a trilogy about Private Palmer, a draftee adrift in the military bureaucracy, trying to make sense of his existence, facing an unknown future.The Enlisted Men’s Club finds Private Palmer stationed at San Francisco’s army base at The Presidio, awaiting orders. He’s been trained as a Military Policeman and struggles with the military order and its subtle codes of behavior and power in the ranks. He focuses his attention on killing time, finding cold beer and thinking up ways to survive each day. More than anything, that means avoiding the “s**t details.” The trick, Private Palmer decides, is not care about anything for the next eighteen months. To his surprise, that’s the most difficult challenge of all.Reilly’s range is apparent in this new series. Palmer in his own way is as memorable a character as Murph—and struggles just as much with his role in organizations, among friends and with the value of his time and work. We believe, like us, readers will sign up for a full tour with this flawed but sympathetic soldier.

Detalhes do Produto

    • Ano de Edição: 2014
    • Ano:  2015
    • País de Produção: Canada
    • Código de Barras:  2000850368488
    • ISBN:  9781310818882

Avaliação dos Consumidores