Aguarde...
 

UNCLE STEPHEN



Produto disponível no mesmo dia no aplicativo Kobo, após a confirmação  do pagamento!

Sinopse

'An exquisite book.' - E. M. Forster  'No other novelist of today can recapture more clearly than Mr. Reid the sense of early wonder and adventurous childhood.' - The Times  'An altogether remarkable book.' - Glasgow Herald  Left in the care of his unloving stepmother after his father's death, sixteen-year-old Tom Barber has a vivid dream one night in which he sees his Uncle Stephen, whom he has never met and who is rumoured to have been mixed up in scandal and the practice of black magic. Unhappy at home and not knowing what to expect when he arrives at Uncle Stephen's manor house, Tom runs away, hoping to live with his uncle. In his depiction of Tom's initiation into Uncle Stephen's mystic creed, his illicit love for the poacher Jim Deverell, and his adventures with Philip, a mysterious boy with a strange and fantastic connection to Uncle Stephen's past and Tom's future, Forrest Reid's artistic vision finds its fullest expression.  The first in Reid's Tom Barber trilogy, Uncle Stephen (1931) is both a tale of boyhood adventure in the tradition of Mark Twain and a story of the supernatural in the vein of Sheridan Le Fanu and Walter de la Mare. This new edition of the book E.M. Forster considered Reid's masterpiece features a new introduction by Andrew Doyle.

Detalhes do Produto

    • Ano de Edição: 2014
    • Ano:  2014
    • País de Produção: Canada
    • Código de Barras:  2000856973549
    • ISBN:  1230000281461

Avaliação dos Consumidores

ROLAR PARA O TOPO